Sleepy Hollow Season 2, Episode 7 Recap

Standard

Ugh. That is the summary of my feelings on “Deliverance.” I am so sad to say it, too. I love, love, love Sleepy Hollow. This show has provided great joy in some hard times for me, and I am so disappointed in its direction now. I really hope the writers can turn it around. We have 11 episodes left in the season, so let’s keep hoping…

Spoilers

First, the premise for this episode is disgusting and offensive. Even though I do not like Katrina (the fault of the writers for poor character development), I do not want to see her impregnated with Moloch by the doing of her own son. She has been repeatedly referred to as a “vessel,” meaning she’s only a shell, meant to carry out the plans of the men around her (Henry, Ichabod, Abraham/Headless, even Moloch). That’s her entire purpose, and it is so extremely offensive and sexist. At least they are not doing this kind of BS to Abbie’s character, or I would absolutely stop watching. Abbie is the show’s only saving Grace at this point (pun intended).

Second, this show is supposed to be about TWO Witnesses. So far, we’ve focused on Ichabod, his past, and his family idiocy almost exclusively. If I don’t get more Mills sisters episodes, I am going to explode. This is honestly ridiculous at this point. However, we did get to see last night that Abbie could pretty much Witness by herself. She’s that badass.

Third, episode 7 was just cheesy. The lines were forced, and the cliches abounded, especially around Ichatrina. Anyone who believes that Ichabod and Katrina have “true love” must have a very poor definition of what true love is. Because what they have is a relationship built upon lies, deceit, and obsession. I rolled my eyes and huffed every time they had a “heartwarming” moment during this episode.

Fourth, Ichabod is being a complete ASSHOLE. One minute, he’s telling Abbie that they must put each other before “anything or anyone,” and the next, he’s saying that he can turn Henry back to the light because he’s his son and choosing Katrina’s side over that of his fellow Witness. I wanted to punch him in his face while watching last night. The best part of the entire episode was when Abbie went off on Ichabod saying, “Do not let your feelings for him [Henry] get in the way of our mission.” That was the only sensible sentence in the entire show last night (besides the cute opening scene in which Abbie voted and had a discussion with Ichabod about how crappy his time period was and informed him that she’s paying all his bills).

“Deliverance” was truly a miss. Once again, I am sad to say it because I really do love this show. Maybe we’ll see that this episode is a building block for something bigger in the future, but right now it just seems like a total cluster. I am going to hold out hope for better days ahead, but the writers better step it up. If they’re worried about ratings now, they’re going to be completely freaking out after alienating the largest part of the fandom–the Ichabbie shippers.

I still love this show, but I refuse to be let down repeatedly. DO BETTER.

ichabbie ep 7

One thought on “Sleepy Hollow Season 2, Episode 7 Recap

Leave a comment